How to be proactive. What are the 4 stages of responsibility?


What is proactivity?

Proactivity is defined as the approach of causing change and not only reacting to change when it happens.

It might sound very simple but the truth is most people are not proactive.

Proactivity isn’t just about taking initiative, to be proactive is to take responsibility for our own lives and not many people want to do that.

“Most people do not really want freedom, because freedom involves responsibility, and most people are frightened of responsibility.”

―Sigmund Freud
Continue reading “How to be proactive. What are the 4 stages of responsibility?”

Freedom of choice and its 4 Components. Respond not React.

freedom of choice

Freedom of choice

Freedom of choice is the space between stimulus and response. We can choose our response instead of reacting to our external circumstances.

If we react then we lose our control and our external circumstances control our fate. In responding to circumstances however we take our destiny in our own hands.

  1. Self-awareness
  2. Imagination
  3. Conscience
  4. Independent Will

1) Self Awareness in freedom of choice

“We are not our feelings. We are not our moods, We are not even our thoughts.

Self-awareness enables us to stand apart and examine even the way we “see” ourselves-our self paradigm, the most fundamental paradigm of effectiveness.
It affects not only our attitudes and behaviors but also how we see other people. It becomes our map of the basic nature of mankind

Stephen R. Covey
Continue reading “Freedom of choice and its 4 Components. Respond not React.”